Research and Databases

Databases

Databases are excellent sources of reputable information.  Many databases offer scholarly articles that are great for school projects or research, and other databases offer things like newspapers and ebooks.  Databases cost money to subscribe, because the information is accurate and can’t be found on Google, but you get them for FREE courtesy of the Rutherford Public Library, BCCLS, and the NJ State Library.  

 

Name

Description

How Do I Get There?

BCCLS (EBSCO, Proquest, and Infotrac)

Great for:  Assorted subjects, students, newspapers, encyclopedias, general research

BCCLS offers a number of databases for a variety of subjects, including biography, business, literature, science, history, encyclopedias, and more!  Many of these databases are also student-specific and targeted towards children and teens for school projects.

Visit http://www.bccls.org/databases/log-in.shtml and enter the number on the back of your library card.  Once logged in, click on “All Subjects” (near the top of the page) to see databases broken down by subject.  If you’re a student, you can also click on “For students” to see the best choices for you! 

Price It!

Great for:  Locating prices for collectibles

Click here and enter the number on the back of your library card. 

Legal Forms

Great for:  Forms for divorce, real estate, wills, and more

Click here and enter the number on the back of your library card

Frost and Sullivan

Great for:  Business and Law

This database provides comprehensive industry and market research articles to encourage growth and empowerment. Frost & Sullivan employs over 45 years of experience in partnering with Global 1000 companies, emerging businesses, and the investment community from more than 31 offices on six continents.

Visit http://www.jerseyclicks.com and enter the number on the back of your library card.  Then, click on Frost and Sullivan under Business.

ReferenceUSA

Great for: Business and Law

Provides detailed, current directory information on more than 12 million U.S. Businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. healthcare providers, 1 million Canadian businesses and 11 million Canadian residents.

Visit http://www.jerseyclicks.com and enter the number on the back of your library card.  Then, click on ReferenceUSA under Business.

Career Transitions

Complete, self-paced application that walks job-seekers through the entire job-seeking process from assessing strengths and interests, to exploring new opportunities, to ultimately improving the chances of landing a job.

Visit http://www.jerseyclicks.com and enter the number on the back of your library card.  Then, click on Career Transitions under Careers and Jobs.

Job and Career Accelerator

Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings.

Visit http://www.jerseyclicks.com and enter the number on the back of your library card.  Then, click on Job and Career Accelerator under Careers and Jobs.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale ebooks are electronic versions of high-quality reference books which are presented in a database. They may be viewed and searched online. This particular collection includes nearly 400 non-fiction reference books from the publisher Gale.  These ebooks are for reference and research, not for reading on an ereader.

Sample titles in this huge collection include:

American Inaugurals
American Men and Women of Science, 23rd ed.
Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of India
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Encyclopedia of Small Business, 2nd ed.
Endangered Species
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 3rd ed.
History of the American Cinema
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed.
…and more

 

From within the Rutherford library- click on the logo.

From home- click the logo and enter your Rutherford library card number when prompted.