The Library provides access to databases with premium subscription-based content that includes scholarly articles, newspapers and ebooks.  You will need your Library card to access these from home.  Click on any of the icons below to connect.


Genealogy.  Here you can search the US Census through 1930, Naturalization records, the US Immigration Collection, the Social Security Death Index, Military records.

This database is only available in the Library.



General research.  BCCLS offers a number of databases for a variety of subjects, including biography, business, literature, science, history, encyclopedias.  Many of these are also student-oriented and targeted towards children and teens for school projects.



General research. JerseyClicks is available with your library card. It includes information on business, careers, current events, education, literature, science, and a new language learning feature with Rosetta Stone.



Gale Virtual Reference Library


General research.  Gale ebooks are the online version of high-quality reference books. This ‘Library’ includes nearly 400 books that are ideal for reference and research.



Careers.  Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings.



Business and Law.  Provides detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. Businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. healthcare providers.



americasnewspapersNews. A large collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Search for articles about issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and  other sections.


News. Articles from 1985 through today.  Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements and other sections.



General researchThe American Book of Days highlights American holidays and pivotal moments, arranged in an easy-to-use, day by day format, so readers can uncover fascinating and often overlooked accounts of American history. There is something about every day of the year.




Politics. Nations of the World, 2017 Edition is a handbook of more than 230 nations and self-governing territories around the world. Presented in alphabetical order, the list of countries presents current facts and figures as well as the changes each nation is experiencing and its history.


businessresourcesBusiness. The 2017 and Directory of Business Information Resources presents an up-to-date source for over 20,000 contacts in 99 business industries. This “insider’s information” is perfect for those building a new business or looking for new professional opportunities. Learn about your industry so you can build a successful career.

Statistics. Profiles of New Jersey—Facts, Figures & Statistics for 876 Populated Places in New Jersey provides data on all populated communities and counties in the State of New Jersey. It includes seven major sections that cover Education, Ethnic Backgrounds, Climate and more. Note that in addition to being available online to those with a Rutherford Library card, the print version of this book is available in the library upon request.

Reference. Each volume of The Reference Shelf focuses on a topic of the day and features comprehensive, balanced coverage. Note that the print edition of the book may be borrowed or the book may be accessed online with a Rutherford Library card.


Streaming. Hoopla is a digital collection of over 200,000 streaming and downloadable movies, TV shows, music, and audiobooks that you can access on your computer or download to a portable device. You can borrow up to 6 titles per month.